Tel: +387 39 703-100
Fax: +387 39 852-233

Fra Didaka Buntića 14
88220 Široki Brijeg

About the County


Geographical Features

The West Herzegovina County was founded on June 12th 1996. It is situated in the Southwest of Bosnia and Herzegovina along the border with the Republic of Croatia. It consists of the municipalities of Grude, Ljubuški and Posušje, and the seat of the County is the city of Široki Brijeg. The County occupies an area of 1.362.2 ㎢. Three rivers flow across the County: Lištica, Trebižat and Ričina, and there is also the Blidinje Lake. The highest mountain peak is Pločno on Čvrsnica Mountain (2.228 m). The climate is Mediterranean, and continental in some parts.
Year of founding
km2 area
Employed persons


According to the latest Census, held in 2013, the West Herzegovina County has about 94,898 inhabitants, out of which 47,587 are women and 47,311 men. National structure of the County consists of about 98% Croats and 2% other nationalities. The average age of the population in the West Herzegovina County is 38.51 years.


Commerce of the West Herzegovina County has been one of the most stable economies in Bosnia and Herzegovina for the past several years. Private initiative and entrepreneurial spirit characterize the commerce in this County, which has resulted in the creation of new jobs. In the commerce of the West Herzegovina County, service and production can be particularly noted. Trade, as the most prominent branch of the economy of this county encompasses 42.4% of enterprises, employing 44% of the total number of employees and accounting for 60% out of total income of the County. The County abounds in agricultural areas. Out of the total area, 30,000 hectares are used as agricultural land, while 84,000 hectares are forest and forest land. The County has large possibilities for production in vegetable-growing, fruit-growing and viticulture. Capacities for milk and meat processing also exist. According to the Federal Bureau of Employment, 18,345 persons were employed in the West Herzegovina County at the end of 2017, which is by 178 more than at the end of 2016.

Administrative Organization

The West Herzegovina County has its own Constitution, Assembly, Government and symbols. In the composition of the West Herzegovina County there are the municipalities of Grude, Ljubuški and Posušje, and the seat of the County is the city of Široki Brijeg. The Assembly of the County executes the legislative power of the County, and it consists of 23 deputies. The County administration is regulated by the Act on County Ministries and other County Administration Bodies, which clearly prescribes competences of the Ministries and other administration bodies. The County Government consists of a Prime-Minister and 8 ministers.

The Ministries of the County Government are as follows:

City of Široki Brijeg
Široki Brijeg
City of Ljubuški
Municipality Grude
Municipality Posušje
© Copyright 2020 Ured Vlade Županije Zapadnohercegovačke za europske integracije.
All Rights Reserved.